Some helpful tips to know before wearing matte lipsticks

My favorite type of lipstick is one that has a matte finish.

Most times these lipstick do not transfer, and they can last for hoursss! (which lady or guy doesn’t love that?)

Though some may complain that these lipsticks/lip stains can be very drying, I agree, but my solution to that is, exfoliating. I exfoliate my lips at least 2 times a week, 3 times at most because I tend to wear matte lipsticks everyday (brown sugar and honey usually does the trick perfectly if you don’t want to purchase an actual lip exfoliant)

Another solution is, before you do your makeup (I’m assuming you apply your lipstick last) apply a lip balm, and by the time you’re done with your makeup, your lips should be soft. Now at this point, you can line your lips with a liner that compliments your lipstick – this will make your lipstick last that much longer – then, you can either wipe off your lip balm or leave it on under your matte lipstick (as I do) for extra softness – either way, the lipstick will still be matte.

Seeing as I love matte lipsticks, I try to make every lipstick have a matte finish, whether it’s a satin, lustre, cremesheen, etc. The way I do this is, after I’m done applying the lipstick, I dust a bit of loose translucent powder on over it and Voila! matte lips ;D

Retouching throughout the day can be tricky. If you’re like me, and you have dry lips all year round (another reason why I exfoliate often), chances are you walk around with a lip balm – this is a good thing when wearing matte lip products. To retouch, I usually apply a layer of lip balm and let it set for a few minutes then i blot it away and reapply my lipstick/lip stain; you can either use a lip brush or apply it straight from the tube, it’s all about preference šŸ™‚

So, let’s recap:

  • exfoliate
  • moisturize
  • blot (or don’t blot)
  • apply matte lip product
  • retouch – moisturize, blot, reapply

If you have any questions, you can shoot me a comment and I’ll be more than happy to respond in the best way that i can!

Thanks for reading, happy lipsticking lol x

— BreathingGlamor xx

Leave a comment