My in depth full coverage face routine: Night Out

This is my full coverage face routine on my typical night out on the town with my girls or a guy friend. Sometimes, I even like to incorporate this routine into my day time look, without the eyeshadow and instead, 500 coats of mascara (okay, maybe just 3 :-p). But for this post, I’ll show you my go-to look for a night out if I’m not in the mood to sit down and analyze for an extra hour (this look typically takes 45 minutes – an hour) how I want to wear my makeup for a particular outfit. This look mostly goes with anything – IMO (in my opinion).

Products Used:

EYES


  1. Eyebrows:

I like to do this step first before I apply my eyeshadows and face primer because it gives me a guide for applying the rest of my makeup.

  • Instant iBrow brow powder – I purchased this at a mall in Miami in the Summer of 2014 by a company called ‘Instant Beauty’. I was bombarded by them (typical lol) trying to sell me their product. They basically dissed my brows and told me to lose the brow pencil and invest in a powder. I’m forever indebted to them now hahaha.
  • MAC NC45 Pro longwear concealer – I use this to highlight under and above the brows to clean up any mistakes I might have made when filling in my brows.

2. Eye Makeup/Eyeshadow:

  • Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion – I use this before applying my shadows, and let me tell you, this primer is from the makeup gods! lol. It’s meant to last 24 hours, and I wouldn’t doubt it for a second. As bad as this may sound, I’ve fallen asleep with makeup on a few times after clubbing (I’m human :-p) and woke up with my eyeshadow still in tact as if I had just applied it. I swear by this primer!
  • Naked 1 and Naked 2 Palette by Urban Decay – I have countless amounts of eyeshadow and eyeshadow palettes, but I always tend to grab these two. For this look, I usually go for Foxy (Naked 2 – brow bone highlight and inner 2/3 of lid), Buck (Naked 1 – transition color), Blackout (Naked 2 – outer 1/3, crease and lower lash line), Half Baked (either palette – inner tear duct), then I usually go back in with Buck to blend out Blackout.
  • L’Oreal telescopic mascara – I use about 3 to 4 coats of mascara on my lower and upper lashes
  • Ardell lashes in Naomi – I have just started experimenting with different types of lashes, from the very normal to dramatic, and I’ve been having a lot of fun with it, but for this night, I went with Naomi, a more subtle but fuller lash! 🙂

SN: I do not wear eyeliner on my lower lash line, ever. Nothing against it, it’s just personal preference :-).

FACE


1. Primer:

  • Benefit POREfessional – I’ve never had any issues with this primer, it lives up to it’s name and does what it is supposed to do – minimize the appearance of pores and fine lines, and help makeup stay put. I use this after I moisturize and before I apply any of my face makeup products.

2. Color Correcting:

  • Mac NC50 Pro Longwear Concealer – I have just added this step to my makeup routine ever since I got breakouts from my NARS foundation. I do this to cover any imperfections that my foundation can’t. (this concealer is in my shade) I typically use a damped beauty blender sponge for this step and blend this all over my face, focusing on problem areas and blending whatever is left on my sponge, on the rest of my face.

2. Foundation Application:

  • Mac Matchmaster Foundation in 7.5 – I then go over my concealer with my foundation for added coverage. I use a stippling brush for this step.

3. Highlight and Contour:

  • Mac NC45 Pro Longwear Concealer – I use this concealer to highlight areas I want to bring forward – under my eyes in a triangular shape, down the bridge of my nose, in the center of my forehead, center of my chin (sometimes) and on my cupid’s bow.
  • Mac Prep & Prime Translucent Setting Powder – I use this in areas where I highlight. You don’t want to use a powder thats the same shade as your skin tone to set your highlight because then you’ve just wasted time highlighting, but to each his own.
  • Mac Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Dark – I use this to set my foundation and blend out the edges of my concealer so everything is seamless 🙂
  • Covergirl Queen Collection Bronzer in Ebony Bronze – I’ve yet to experience with creams and liquids for contouring, so for now I’ve been powder contouring using this product. I apply this in all areas I want to appear slimmer – the hallows of my cheeks, down the sides of my nose, jawline and temples.
  • Mac Bronzer in Gold Deposit – This is a beautiful gold shimmery bronzer/highlight. I use this on the high points of my cheekbones to give that extra oomph! 😉 and on my cupid’s bow.

4. Blush:

  • BlackUp Blush in number 06 

5. Lipstick:

  • Mac Ruby Woo Matte Lipstick – the most beautiful red with blue undertones, I usually pair this lipstick with any black lip liner – typically one I purchased from the hair store or the beauty section at my local supermarket.

6. Finishing Spray:

  • I either gravitate toward my MAC Fix+ or Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray, either one works – I sprits this all over my face to set everything in place and for a matte finish and VOILA!

Here’s a shot of my this makeup look. I was unable to find good lighting this entire night and seeing as it was dark out, I couldn’t get any natural light. On the left is with flash, before; and on the right is after my night out without flash. Both pics taken with my iPhone 5s back camera.

Hope you guys enjoyed this look and liked this post!

— BreathingGlamor xx

2 thoughts on “My in depth full coverage face routine: Night Out

Leave a comment